The Walking Dead spinoffs release order and where to watch them

AMC offers a long list of spinoffs in The Walking Dead universe that expand the stories of many favorite characters while introducing many new ones as well.
Lauren Cohan as Maggie Rhee, Okea Eme-Akwari as Elijah - The Walking Dead _ Season 11, Episode 7 - Photo Credit: Josh Stringer/AMC
Lauren Cohan as Maggie Rhee, Okea Eme-Akwari as Elijah - The Walking Dead _ Season 11, Episode 7 - Photo Credit: Josh Stringer/AMC /

AMC has grown The Walking Dead universe from a comic story created by Robert Kirkman to a franchise that includes seven series. The flagship series began airing in 2010, and by 2015, the first spinoff, Fear the Walking Dead, premiered on AMC. This paved the way for new and continued stories created to expand TWD universe into a fandom like no other.

The Walking Dead Rick Grimes season 1 /

The Walking Dead began airing on AMC in October 2010. The series would continue for 11 seasons, which aired over a 12-year span. The main series had its highs and lows, as any long-running series does, but overall, it was an exceptional one that greatly impacted zombie and apocalyptic culture.

The Walking Dead - 11 seasons - available on Netflix.

Colman Domingo as Victor Strand, Alycia Debnam-Carey as Alicia Clark, Kim Dickens as Madison Clark, Frank Dillane as Nick Clark, Danay Garcia as Luciana - Fear the Walking Dead _ Season 4, Episode 8 - Photo Credit: Richard Foreman, Jr/AMC /

Fear the Walking Dead was the first spinoff in TWDU that featured events from the beginning of the outbreak in Los Angeles. Over the 8-season run, the story would travel from L.A. to Mexico, on to Texas, and the final season took place in Georgia. This series was the first to feature crossover characters from the main series and introduced many new characters. Most viewers enjoyed the first three seasons best but felt things quickly digressed after that. The final season did a good job of tying up the character's storylines and redeeming the series after the seventh season, which left much to be desired.

Fear the Walking Dead - 8 seasons - available on AMC+.

Alexa Mansour as Hope, Aliyah Royale as Iris, Hal Cumpston as Silas, Nicolas Cantu as Elton - The Walking Dead: World Beyond _ Season 1, Episode 2 - Photo Credit: Jojo Whilden/AMC /

The Walking Dead: World Beyond is a limited series that is an apocalyptic coming-of-age story focusing on a group of teens who spent the majority of their lives protected behind walls after the outbreak. They leave the confines of the walls to locate one of their member's father who they believe is in need of help. The story follows their journey as they learn to survive in a world overrun by the undead. This series also shed light on the mysterious CRM (Civic Republic Military) and featured a crossover character from the main series. The series was planned as a limited 2 season series.

The Walking Dead: World Beyond - 2 seasons - available on

Samantha Morton as Dee, Scarlett Blum as Lydia - Tales of the Walking Dead _ Season 1 - Photo Credit: Curtis Bonds Baker/AMC /

Tales of the Walking Dead is the most unique spinoff as it is an episodic anthology featuring new stories set in the same world. Each episode is set at various times after the outbreak in different locations around the United States, featuring new characters, save for one episode, which is an origin story for Alpha, leader of the Whisperers.

Tales of the Walking Dead - 1 season - available on AMC+.

The Walking Dead: Dead City
Lauren Cohan as Maggie Rhee, Jeffrey Dean Morgan as Negan - The Walking Dead: Dead City _ Season 1, Episode 6 - Photo Credit: Peter Kramer/AMC /

The Walking Dead: Dead City is the first direct spinoff of the main series. Dead City expands Maggie and Negan's stories, taking them to the apocalyptic streets of Manhattan. This series teams up the long-time enemies in an effort to rescue Maggie's son Hershel from one of Negan's former Saviors, a man known as The Croat. The season ended with Maggie betraying Negan, setting up the story for the second season, which is expected to be released in 2025.

The Walking Dead: Dead City - 1 season - available on AMC+.

Norman Reedus as Daryl Dixon - The Walking Dead: Daryl Dixon _ Season 2 - Photo Credit: Emmanuel Guimier/AMC /

The Walking Dead: Daryl Dixon features Daryl in an overseas adventure in France. Viewers learn how Daryl was forced onto a ship bound for France, where he gets involved in a holy war of sorts between The Union of Hope and a nationalist movement known as Pouvoir or Power of the Living. The Union of Hope has put all their faith in a young boy who they believe will save humanity it what appears to be the end of days. The series has been renewed for seasons 2 and 3, with Carol Peletier joining the series in the second season, which premieres on AMC and AMC+ on September 29, 2024.

The Walking Dead: Daryl Dixon - 1 season - available on AMC+.

Andrew Lincoln as Rick Grimes, Danai Gurira as Michonne - The Walking Dead: The Ones Who Live _ Season 1, Episode 4 - Photo Credit: Gene Page/AMC /

The Walking Dead: The Ones Who Live is the highly anticipated spinoff that showcases the return of fan favorites Rick and Michonne. This series featured the reunion between the couple who had been separated for years as they took on the big bad known as the CRM (Civic Republic Military). The limited series featured six episodes to wrap this chapter in the story of Rick and Michonne which also saw them reunite with their children, Judith and RJ.

The Walking Dead: The Ones Who Live - 1 season - available on AMC+.

Read more Walking Dead news on Undead Walking:


Follow Undead Walking on Twitter and Facebook and sign up for the once-daily Undead Walking newsletter to avoid missing out on everything in The Walking Dead universe.