Robert Kirkman is bringing Rick Grimes and Clementine to limited edition comic

Skybound logo
Skybound logo /

Fans of The Walking Dead’s Rick Grimes have been patiently waiting for any news about the character. They are most anxious to hear about the promised Walking Dead movies, but this news might appease them for the time being.

In a press release, Skybound announced that Robert Kirkman will revive Rick Grimes for a limited edition, five-issue comic book series set to release in July. Grimes was originally killed off in the
comics in 2019, with the comic itself concluding in 2020. The new comic is called Skybound X and celebrates the 10th Anniversary of Kirkman’s Skybound company.

This comic series will feature icons from Skybound, including Rick Grimes and a first-ever comic appearance of Clementine from Telltale’s The Walking Dead video game. There will also be stories from Ultramega and Manifest Destiny worlds.

Skybound X. Image courtesy Image Comics and Skybound Entertainment
Skybound X. Image courtesy Image Comics and Skybound Entertainment /

Robert Kirkman and Skybound celebrate 10 years with a limited edition comic book featuring Rick Grimes.

Issue 1 will release on July 7, 2021, and available in comic book stores and digitally via Amazon Kindle, Apple Books, comiXology, and Google Play. Each edition will be an oversized weekly issue.

Every issue will begin with a new chapter from Rick Grimes 2000. This was originally featured in The Walking Dead issue 75 that reunites the Invincible team of Kirkman and Ryan Ottley.

This limited edition comic will feature not only Grimes and Clementine but also many new characters and storylines. This will also include content from all the heavy-hitting creators at Skybound, including Kirkman, Ottley, Tillie Walden, Donny Cates, Joshua Williamson, Chip Zdarsky, James Harren, and Daniel Warren Johnson. They will provide past, present and future stories that from the best  Skybound has to offer.

SkyBound X #1 – release date July 7

First chapter of Rick Grimes 2000 and Clementine’s comic book debut with new Ultramega and Manifest Destiny stories.

SkyBound X #2 – release date July 14

Second chapter of Rick Grimes 2000 and the debut of a new Stillwater character, Murder Falcon throw down and the first appearance of Everyday Hero Machine Boy.

SkyBound X #3 – release date July 21

Third chapter of Rick Grimes 2000 and a surprising coda to Birthright saga, an Assassin Nation fan favorite and the latest installment of Science Dog. 

SkyBound X #4 -release date July 28

Fourth chapter of Rick Grimes 2000 and new Redneck and Excellence stories, and Sea Serpent’s Heir’s first appearance.

SkyBound X #5 -release date August 4

Fifth and final chapter of  Rick Grimes 2000 and The Six Sidekicks of Trigger Keaton and Gasolina stories. And something brand new from Kirkman and Jason Howard.

When will The Walking Dead season 10 release on Netflix?. dark. Next

Mark your calendars for July 7, when the first issue of Skybound X will be released.

Congrats, Skybound, on 10 years of greatness!