Fear the Walking Dead: A guide to the first season

Nick from Opening Scene of Fear the Walking DeadImage Credit: Screencapped.net - Raina
Nick from Opening Scene of Fear the Walking DeadImage Credit: Screencapped.net - Raina /
1 of 8
Art. Principal. Fear the Walking Dead. AMC /

A new Walking Dead!

Fear the Walking Dead is the companion series for The Walking Dead. It is set in Los Angeles during the time when Rick Grimes was in his coma. The big 90-minute premiere episode aired on AMC on August 23, 2015 and set a cable ratings record!

Our guide will gather and summarize all the important bits of information from season 1 to help you get to know the characters and plot points and remind you of everything we learn in the new companion series.

I’m putting this guide together as the season goes along so it will be completed at the end of the season. It will be fun to look back at this information next year going into season 2!

We’ll start with what we knew before the show even began.

Excitement builds before the premiere!

Before the show even premiered, we learned about the official name, many of the characters and cast members. The cast and producers revealed trailers and promoted the show at San Diego Comic-Con in July. Robert Kirkman even wrote an open letter about the show

"The Walking Dead has always been about the characters” Kirkman wrote. “Now we get to introduce you to Madison, Travis, Alicia, Nick, Liza, Chris, Daniel, Ofelia and well… the cast continues to grow each episode… and yes… we do lose a few along the way.  But where the “exciting” and “new” comes in… is that these people have their own experiences and reasons to survive. They’re complicated, real characters who will not be dealing with the undead the same way.  They’ll learn new things, they’ll find new tools, they’ll learn faster or slower but what we end up with is a very, VERY different show… set in a world we LOVE exploring as much as we’d all NEVER want to live there.”"

We find out that the first season will consist of 6 episodes. We find out a premiere date. It’s really happening! It will even have a Talking Dead! Not for every episode, but one big Talking Dead for the finale. But Chris Hardwick will be talking to us about these new characters! What will he give the fan who steps up to the mic for the fan question? Something to think about during the season!

Official trailer:

Wicked mini-teasers!

Teaser 1.    Teaser 2.   Teaser 3.    Teaser 4.   Teaser 5.  Teaser 6.

We find out that there will already be a second season and the second season will consist of 15 episodes!

We started to make predictions and wonder about the show and started to get excited about the premiere! August 23rd was circled on our calendars!

Get to know a little about the characters here:

Spoilers are included about the episodes discussed. Don’t go on if you haven’t seen the pilot of Fear the Walking Dead! 

Next: Pilot